Day 25

Sunday was a cool day. Again I noticed some really different responses in me to situations where I would likely have made other choices. I’m not sure whether this is spiritual growth. Merely getting better at my Lent goal is not the issue. What I am seeing here is a rejection of a behaviour as a way of replacing God in a very small sense. I guess that makes it spiritual growth. I really related to what Jacob said in the Lent interview as well about the impact of discipline generally. Rhett made an interesting comment on compassion and whether its the cost of compassion that makes it compassion? It made me think about Lent – whether the sacrifice in a Lent goal is what creates growth. No real sacrifice? No growth?

Would you choose a different kind of Lent goal in 2010 based on your experience in 2009?

Leave a Reply

